Guest Reviews

9.6
Based on 143 reviews.
Jane
Jane
28. June, 2021.
8.0
Verified
Very good ☺ Great little find just a stones through from the sea, lovely rooms and very clean, Peter & Julie are friendly hosts, definitely recommend
Rachel
Rachel
27. June, 2021.
10
Verified
Brilliant weekend away. ☺ Owners very nice. Very friendly. Lovely and clean. All round brilliant place. ☹ N/A
Len
Len
21. June, 2021.
10
Verified
Exceptional
Brandon
Brandon
16. June, 2021.
10
Verified
Great stay! ☺ Absolutely everything. The hosts were amazing. The room was perfect, and the location wonderful ☹ I can't fault anything during our stay
Wendy
Wendy
14. June, 2021.
9.0
Verified
Clean, friendly hosts, lovely place right near the sea front, will definitely book again ☺ Peter and Julie were perfect hosts, sending skimmed milk up to the room as they could see on my breakfast request that was my preferred choice, therefore they sent skimmed up for me to use in my teas and coffees in the room, this was sent up both evenings! There was plenty of coffee sachets and teabags and some lovely shortbread. Water was replaced upon request which was great as you didn’t have to use the sink in the bathroom to fill the kettle as you do in other establishments. The continental breakfast was lovely on the first morning but I think on the second morning I was given someone else’s breakfast as I had the opposite of what I requested (croissant and strawberry yoghurt instead of petit pain and strawberry jam), which I was therefore unable to eat, but that was just trivial, considering that we lost my partners father who was residing in seaton, while we were there! The room was meticulously clean and had TV, hairdryer, wine glasses and an after dinner mint each. The bed was comfy and there were plenty of lights. We did not have an en suite room but we did have a private bathroom which was lovely. Everything was provided, shower gel, shampoo and conditioner in the shower cubicle and around the sink area was hand wash, hand cream, soaps, flannels, cotton wool and cotton buds! Would I recommend Pebbles?......Absolutely! Pebbles will be the first place we look for availability next time we need a B&B to stay in, we definitely couldn’t fault the place, big thank you to Peter and Julie. ☹ The attention to detail on breakfast requests could be improved, but at the end of the day, it’s complimentary and filling
Karen
Karen
14. June, 2021.
10
Verified
Thank you Peter and Julie for going that extra mile???? love Karen and Anita???? ☺ Lovely couple Peter and Julie excellent service, a lovely note left for us to take a tram to colyford to walk along the river bank to the kingfisher pub, fabulous food. Without the note we wouldn't of seen such beauty or had such lovely food. Very helpful with our bags as my friends back went so Julie helped carry some up the hill to our car. Thank you so very much. We will be back for certain maybe bring our husband's too???????? xxx ☹ N/A
Peter
Peter
14. June, 2021.
9.0
Verified
Excellent stay ☺ We had a lovely room and were looked after superbly. We couldn't have asked for more from our hosts. They were both friendly and very helpful. The continental breakfast was excellent and we would highly recommend this B & B.
Brandon
Brandon
11. June, 2021.
9.0
Verified
A great B&B run by nice people. ☺ The bed was very comfortable, there was plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, the shower was hot and powerful, there was plenty of tea/coffee, milk etc. We had the Jubilee View room which had a good sea view. Peter and Julie were great. We got a good welcome and we knew that if we wanted anything we only had to ask.
Matt
Matt
10. June, 2021.
9.0
Verified
Very good value for money, and an ideal spot to explore the area from. ☺ Lovely property with spacious, comfortable room, only a minute from the seafront. The owners were very friendly and helpful.
Anthony
Anthony
2. June, 2021.
9.0
Verified
Superb
Based on 262 reviews.
BoroFan1
BoroFan1
17. June, 2021.
Verified
Best Place to stay in Seaton! Peter and Julie were perfect hosts, sending skimmed milk up to the room as they could see on my breakfast request that was my preferred choice, therefore they sent skimmed up for me to use in my teas and coffees in the room, this was sent up both evenings! There was plenty of coffee sachets and teabags and some lovely shortbread. Water was replaced upon request which was great as you didn’t have to use the sink in the bathroom to fill the kettle as you do in other establishments. The continental breakfast was lovely on the first morning but I think on the second morning I was given someone else’s breakfast as I had the opposite of what I requested (croissant and strawberry yoghurt instead of petit pain and strawberry jam), which I was therefore unable to eat, but that was just trivial, considering that we lost my partners father who was residing in seaton, while we were there! The room was meticulously clean and had TV, hairdryer, wine glasses and an after dinner mint each. The bed was comfy and there were plenty of lights. We did not have an en suite room but we did have a private bathroom which was lovely. Everything was provided, shower gel, shampoo and conditioner in the shower cubicle and around the sink area was hand wash, hand cream, soaps, flannels, cotton wool and cotton buds! Would I recommend Pebbles?......Absolutely! Pebbles will be the first place we look for availability next time we need a B&B to stay in, we definitely couldn’t fault the place, big thank you to Peter and Julie.
bmcook51
bmcook51
11. June, 2021.
Verified
Great B&B, lovely owners. The bed was very comfortable, there was plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, the shower was hot and powerful, there was plenty of tea/coffee, milk etc. We had the Jubilee View room which had a good sea view. Peter and Julie were great. We got a good welcome and we knew that if we wanted anything we only had to ask.
Catwoman
Catwoman
2. June, 2021.
Verified
Fantastic B & B What a find!! A warm welcome from Peter and Julie, beautiful room extremely tasteful decor, the most comfortable bed we had ever slept in, it was like sleeping on a cloud! Everything was spotlessly clean, from the hall entrance to our beautiful bathroom. We really enjoyed the fantastic Continental breakfast which was served in our room by a masked Peter or Julie, the Covid safety rules are strictly adhered to here, which is very reassuring. Even the outside of the building is welcoming, with pots and window boxes full of plants. The whole place oozes welcome and nothing is too much trouble for the hosts. We are returning in September, this place is too good to leave for too long! Thank you Peter and Julie for making our visit so very enjoyable.
Charlotte K
Charlotte K
31. May, 2021.
Verified
A lovely stay ruined by a verbally aggressive confrontation My partner and I were lucky enough to have this room booked for us by my mother-in-law so we could spend the weekend with our family and were excited to stay in this pretty town. Pebbles is a comfortable and characterful B&B in a wonderful location close to the beach. The room was spacious, cleanly, well appointed and the view was lovely (the clocktower, park and ocean to the left). We loved the comfortable bed and big bay window! Due to covid restrictions the breakfast was served to our room instead of the dining room and was only a continental with no cooked options. There was still plenty of food with lots of choice and the quality was great. The only downsides to pebbles itself is the pervasive smell of stale cigarette smoke and the rude owner. I'm not sure if we caught Peter on a bad day, but his reaction to an honest mistake on our part was blown far out of proportion. He had been watching the CCTV footage from inside the property and seen we had forgotten to wear masks and sanitize our hands on entry the previous day. The next morning he followed us out of the building and shouted from the door something about wanting us to go back upstairs pack up our things and leave. Bewildered, we listened as he shouted "I'm not spying, but we have CCTV" and explained our mistake. We both immediately replied "I'm so sorry, we completely forgot, it was an honest mistake" which it was. This was not enough of an apology for him so he continued to yell from the doorstep how we didn't care about the pandemic (we very much do) and how we're ignorant of the virus and its effects (again, an incorrect assumption, presumably formed from previous experiences of people flagrantly ignoring the rules). We were trying to explain we were getting our car and leaving anyway but he seemed to just want to vent. During this tirade he mentioned we obviously hadn't read the guest book because we left a towel on the radiator. While packing up I read the extensive guestbook (which I had only flicked through upon our arrival) to see what he was talking about regarding the towels. There was alot of common courtesy instructions such as "please do not use towels to remove makeup" which, I felt, went without saying. Finally I found the line about not turning on the towel rail or hanging towels on the radiator to prevent bacteria growing. Firstly, covid is a virus, not bacteria, so this is irrelevant. Secondly, the radiator was off. Lastly, why stop daily cleaning to protect staff and then come into the room during our stay anyway, to check if we're following the many, many rules?! It was a horrible experience to be shouted at and insulted very publically (and with such unnecessary aggression) whilst being respectful and apologetic.
187069Debs001
187069Debs001
2. May, 2021.
Verified
Very helpful! We enquired about a reservation for the end of May with Peter but unfortunately they were fully booked. Peter was very helpful in recommending other b & b’s in Seaton and also gave us a lot of local information. When we stay in Seaton we’re going to pop in and see him to say a friendly hello!!! Thanks again Peter
Karen T
Karen T
11. October, 2020.
Verified
Fab Just come back from a mini break at the pebbles and we had a fantastic time the room was lovely had a wonderful view of the sea from one of the windows the house was very nice and friendly couldn’t do enough for you would definitely stay there again
primo z
primo z
11. October, 2020.
Verified
Excellent We stayed at the wonderful Pebbles B&B for just a short time two days. The Covid measures the proprietors Peter and Julie have taken are top rate. The facilities in our ensuite room (Jubilee) with sea view, were first class. The Picnic Hamper breakfast in our room is a very ingenious idea, due to closer of their breakfast room (not suitable for Covid distancing). The food supplied was in abundance ! We would definitely stay here again and recommend this superb B&B to our friends. Thank you Peter and Julie for your charming welcome. Best wishes from Primo and Vanessa
Maureen Cree
Maureen Cree
18. September, 2020.
Verified
Try it, you won't regret it. The room had the promised sea view, it was exceptionally clean and tidy with all you could with for down to wine glasses and bottle opener. The furniture and beds were so comfortable and the en suite was beautiful and stocked with hand was, body lotion h=shampoo, conditioner and shower gel, all good quality and in large bottles. They even supply soap, shower caps and flannels! Due to the Covid it was a cold breakfast brought to your room. The range of cereal, jam, croissant, fruit and juice etc was extensive. If you were hungry after your breakfast, you just hadn't chosen enough as the portions were excellent. Last but not least, Peter and Julie, the owners made us feel welcome from the time they opened the door to us. The are just so friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. We shall certainly go again Thank you Peter and Julie, for making us so welcome, like old friends come to visit rather than paying customers. You made the holiday!
Qualitycook
Qualitycook
28. July, 2020.
Verified
Super Host I booked this B&B for August using Booking.com. There was a lot to consider as I was sharing a twin with my grown up daughter. The owner, Pete telephoned me to check on my requirements. There were a number of issues that he pointed out, that would have made my stay rather difficult. Pete suggested I cancelled my booking whilst it was still FOC. He had a marvellous sense of humour and went the extra mile to find me suitable twin room accommodation. If the circumstances were different then I would definitely stay at this B&B as complete honesty is rare these days.
Alison B
Alison B
24. July, 2020.
Verified
Short break Pebbles is a delightful B&B, right by the sea. Peter and Julie are so lovely and welcoming and do everything they can to ensure your stay is really comfortable. The accommodation is spotlessly clean, which starts right at the front gate. The exterior is very well maintained and inviting and our bedroom was immaculate. There were complimentary tea, coffee, hot chocolate, bottled water, biscuits and chocolate mints. Breakfast was served to our room each morning due to the current government health restrictions. This was beautifully presented in a wicker basket with the choices we had made the night before. Complimentary toiletries were included as were bath gowns which were a welcome addition to the room. We would definitely recommend this B&B and we will be returning.